Interactive Bar

Google Services




  • Jarrow Cross C of E Primary School
‘Living and Learning’
Value in Everyone


India is now home to one of the seven wonders of the world; however it hasn’t always been.


The Seven Wonders of the World is a list of remarkable, human- constructed landmarks . The original list (The ancient Seven Wonders of the World) dates back to the second century BC and consisted of: 

  • The Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The Great Pyramid of Giza
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus


The list was compiled by ancient Greek travellers who were so impressed with some of the marvellous and imaginative architecture they saw, they began to put together lists of some ‘must-see’ recommendations for future visitors.


Even though there are many hugely impressive ancient sights, there have only ever been seven ancient Wonders of the World. The ancient Greeks believed the number seven represented perfection so it was a particularly significant number for them


The original list of the ancient Seven Wonders of the World has inspired a host of similar lists throughout history. In 2000, a modern list of the new Seven Wonders of the World was created consisting of landmarks that are still in existence today, they are:


  • The Great wall of China
  • Chichen Itza
  • Petra
  • Machu Picchu
  • Christ the Redeemer
  • The Colosseum
  • The Taj Mahal


Task 1

Your first task is to locate each of the Seven Wonders of the World. Use the facts sheets below or the internet, find out where each of the Seven Wonders is located and a brief description of what it is and add it to the attached map, I have labelled each country you just need to add the correct Wonder to each one.

 You can either record each wonder on the map using the word document or you can record in your exercise book using the numbers that are on each box.

EG. 3. Great Wall of China

Task 2

Watch the virtual tour of the Taj Mahal. As you watch, record words and phrases to describe it.

Write a brief description or a poem of the Taj Mahal which demonstrates how magnificent it is. 

Task 3

Your next task is to imagine that a Seven Wonders of the UK are being put together. Think about which famous UK landmark should make the list. There are some ideas below:

  • The Shard
  • Durham Cathedral
  • The Millennium Eye
  • Stone Henge
  • Hadrian’s Wall
  • The Angel of the North
  • High Force

Choose one landmark which you think should feature in the Seven Wonders of the UK.

 You can choose one from the list of decide on one of your own, it might be somewhere you have visited to somewhere you have always wanted to go.

Once you have decided on your landmark, you task is to persuade people to vote for your chosen landmark to make the top 7!

You could create a poster including images, a description of you landmarks and the location remembering to include why it is so special and persuade me that it should be in the top 7 Wonders of the UK.

Alternatively, you could write and record a radio advert.

The power point /PDF below might help to give you some ideas.


Task 4

In India there are many languages spoken across the country, including Punjabi, Bengali, Kashmiri, Tamil, Sanskrit, Urdu and many others.

Some of these languages have very unique alphabets:

However, the official languages of India are Hindi and English.

The Hindi Alphabet

The alphabet in Hindi has 36 consonants and 12 vowels. Hindi is written from the left towards the right which is the same as the English language.

The Hindi language is written in a script called the Devanagari script.

The 12 vowels and 36 consonants of the Hindi language have the same pronunciation as the English one. Therefore, it’s easy to learn the Hindi writing system fast.


Now let’s have a go at writing your name, look at the alphabet sheet below to help you to write your name in Hindi